Promoting Democracy Through Education .com

North Dakota Elected Officials

North Dakota Current Partisan Composition
State Representatives(94)
State Senators(47)
US Representatives(1)
US Senators(2)
State Executives
Lt. Governor
Att. General
Sec. Of State
State Executives
Governor Doug  Burgum
Brent Sanford
Wayne Stenehjem,
Hon. Alvin "Al" Jaeger
North Dakota U.S. Senators
Party affiliation:Democrat
Senator Heidi,Heitkamp

Year of Birth: 1955

A Senator from North Dakota; born in Breckenridge, Minn., October30, 1955; graduated University of North Dakota, B.A., 1977; graduated Lewis& Clark College, J.D., 1980; lawyer, Environmental Protection Agency1980-1981; lawyer, Office of the North Dakota State Tax Commissioner 1981-1986;director, Dakota Gasification Company; tax commissioner of North Dakota1986-1992; attorney general of North Dakota 1992-2000; unsuccessful Democraticcandidate for governor of North Dakota in 2000; elected as a Democrat to theUnited States Senate in 2012 for the term ending January 3, 2019.

Phone: Washington Office:(202) 224-2043

Party affiliation:Republican
Senator John,Hoeven

Year of Birth: 1957

A Senator from North Dakota; born in Bismarck, N.D., March 13, 1957;graduated Dartmouth College, B.A., 1979; graduated Northwestern University,M.B.A., 1981; bank president and CEO; governor of North Dakota 2000-2010;elected as a Republican to the United States Senate in 2010; reelected in 2016 for the term endingJanuary 3, 2023.

Phone: Washington, D.C.:(202) 224-2551

North Dakota U.S. House Representatives
Congressional Districts : At large ,
Congressional District : At largeRepublican
Representative Representative Cramer, Kevin

Representative Cramer, Kevin
Year of Birth: 1961

A Representative from North Dakota; born in Rolla, Rolette County,N.Dak., January 21, 1961; graduated from Kindred High School, Kindred, N.Dak.,1979; B.A., Concordia College, Moorhead, Minn., 1983; M.A., University of Mary,Bismarck, N.Dak., 2003; chairman, North Dakota Republican Party, 1991-1993;North Dakota state tourism director, 1993-1997; unsuccessful candidate for theUnited States House of Representatives in 1996; North Dakota state economicdevelopment and finance director, 1997-2000; unsuccessful candidate for theUnited States House of Representatives in 1998; North Dakota public servicecommissioner, 2003-2012; elected as a Republican to the One Hundred Thirteenthand to the two succeeding Congresses (January 3, 2013-present).


Have A Question?

One of MyTime2Vote's top priorities is providing our citizens access to all of the latest State and Federal election information.

We're currently updating the following pages

  • State Ballots for this year election cycle
  • State Voting Guide
  • Elections Calendar
  • States Summary

We are working day and night to give you up-to-date information, but we need your help! For website bug reports, data issues/rss feeds submission, feedback, or general questions about, please send an email to

Mytimetovote App

Track State by State election dates, absentee ballot voting deadlines, voter registration deadlines, early voting dates, and more.
Download On the Itunes Store

When's The Next Election?

November 6, 2018
North Dakota : General election Day

Poll Hours: 7:00 AM-7:00 PM

The voting hours in North Dakota vary by county. Polling place voting hours are available online through the Polling Place Search. A voter who is standing in line at the time the polls close will be allowed to vote. However, a voter who arrives after the polls close may not be allowed to vote. A statewide list of voting hours for each polling place may be found in the Statewide Polling Places and Precincts.

Am I eligible To Vote in North Dakota?

Most States require citizens to be registered in order to vote. Make sure you understand the voter registration requirements of your State of residence. Check if you are eligible to vote in North Dakota

If My Address Has Changed Do I Need To Re-register To Vote?

When you register to vote, your voter registration is linked to your residential address. When registered voters move, they are supposed to update their registration records with election officials before voting Check if you need to re-register to vote

Can I Register At The Polls On Election Day?

NO: North Dakota does not provide Same Day Voter Registration. You must register to vote by the voter registration deadline in order to vote in an election. If you miss the voter registration deadline for an election you should contact your local election office.