Promoting Democracy Through Education .com

Iowa Elected Officials

Iowa Current Partisan Composition
State Representatives(100)
State Senators(50)
US Representatives(4)
US Senators(2)
State Executives
Lt. Governor
Att. General
Sec. Of State
State Executives
Governor Terry E. Branstad
Kim Reynolds
Tom Miller,
Hon. Paul Pate
Iowa U.S. Senators
Party affiliation:Republican
Senator Joni,Ernst

Year of Birth: 1970

A Senator from Iowa; born in Red Oak, Montgomery County, Iowa, July1, 1970; B.A., Iowa State University, 1992; M.P.A., Columbus College (nowColumbus State University), Columbus, Ga., 1995; United States Army Reserves,1993-2001; Iowa Army National Guard, 2001-present, attaining the rank oflieutenant colonel; auditor of Montgomery County, Iowa, 2005-2011; member ofthe Iowa state senate 2011-2014; elected as a Republican to the United StatesSenate in 2014 for the term ending January 3, 2021.

Phone: Washington, D.C.:(202) 224-3254

Party affiliation:Republican
Senator Chuck,Grassley

Year of Birth: 1933

A Senator and a Representative from Iowa; born in New Hartford,Butler County, Iowa, September 17, 1933; attended the public schools;graduated, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls 1955; received a graduatedegree from the same university in 1956; pursued graduate work, University ofIowa, Iowa City 1957-1958; engaged in agriculture; part-time universityinstructor; member, Iowa house of representatives 1959-1974; elected in 1974 asa Republican to the Ninety-fourth Congress; reelected to the Ninety-fifth andNinety-sixth Congresses (January 3, 1975-January 3, 1981); was not a candidatein 1980 for reelection to the House of Representatives, but was elected to theSenate in 1980; reelected in 1986, 1992, 1998, 2004, 2010, and again in 2016 for theterm ending January 3, 2023; chair, Special Committee on Aging (One HundredFifth Congress), Committee on Finance (One Hundred Seventh Congress [January 20to June 6, 2001], One Hundred Eighth and One Hundred Ninth Congresses),Committee on the Judiciary (One Hundred Fourteenth Congress).

Phone: Washington, D.C.:(202) 224-3744

Iowa U.S. House Representatives
Congressional Districts : 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 ,
Congressional District : 1Republican
Representative Representative Blum, Rod

Representative Blum, Rod
Year of Birth: 1955

A Representative from Iowa; born in Dubuque, Dubuque County, Iowa, April 26, 1955; graduated from Dubuque Senior High School, Dubuque, Iowa, 1973; B.A., Loras College, Dubuque, Iowa, 1977; M.B.A., University of Dubuque, Dubuque, Iowa, 1989; business executive; unsuccessful candidate for nomination to the One Hundred Thirteenth Congress in 2012; elected as a Republican to the One Hundred Fourteenth and to the succeeding Congress (January 3, 2015-present).


Congressional District : 2Democratic
Representative Representative Loebsack, David

Representative Loebsack, David
Year of Birth: 1952

A Representative from Iowa; born in Sioux City, Woodbury County,Iowa, December 23, 1952; graduated from East High School, Sioux City, Iowa,1970; B.S., Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, 1974; M.A., Iowa StateUniversity, Ames, Iowa, 1976; Ph.D., University of California, Davis, Calif.,1985; professor, Cornell College, Mount Vernon, Iowa; elected as a Democrat tothe One Hundred Tenth and to the five succeeding Congresses (January 3,2007-present).


Congressional District : 3Republican
Representative Representative Young, David

Representative Young, David
Year of Birth: 1968

A Representative from Iowa; born in Van Meter, Dallas County, Iowa,May 11, 1968; graduated from Johnston High School, Johnston, Iowa, 1986; B.A.,Drake University, Des Moines, Iowa, 1991; businessman; staff, United StatesSenator George Hanks (Hank) Brown of Colorado, 1993-1996; staff, campaignmanager, United States Senator James Paul David Bunning of Kentucky, 1998-2006;chief of staff, United States Senator Charles Ernest Grassley of Iowa,2006-2013; elected as a Republican to the One Hundred Fourteenth and to thesucceeding Congress (January 3, 2015-present).


Congressional District : 4Republican
Representative Representative King, Steve

Representative King, Steve
Year of Birth: 1949

A Representative from Iowa; born in Storm Lake, Buena Vista County,Iowa, May 28, 1949; graduated from Denison Community High School, Denison,Iowa; attended Northwest Missouri State University, Maryville, Mo., 1967-1970;business owner; member of the Iowa state senate, 1996-2002; elected as aRepublican to the One Hundred Eighth and to the seven succeeding Congresses(January 3, 2003-present).


Have A Question?

One of MyTime2Vote's top priorities is providing our citizens access to all of the latest State and Federal election information.

We're currently updating the following pages

  • State Ballots for this year election cycle
  • State Voting Guide
  • Elections Calendar
  • States Summary

We are working day and night to give you up-to-date information, but we need your help! For website bug reports, data issues/rss feeds submission, feedback, or general questions about, please send an email to

Mytimetovote App

Track State by State election dates, absentee ballot voting deadlines, voter registration deadlines, early voting dates, and more.
Download On the Itunes Store

When's The Next Election?

September 12, 2017
Iowa : School Election Day
October 10, 2017
Iowa : City Primary Election
November 7, 2017
Iowa : Regular City Election

Poll Hours: 7:00 AM-9:00 PM

For Primary and General Elections, the polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. statewide. For other elections, please contact your county auditor for the polling place hours.

Am I eligible To Vote in Iowa?

Most States require citizens to be registered in order to vote. Make sure you understand the voter registration requirements of your State of residence. Check if you are eligible to vote in Iowa

If My Address Has Changed Do I Need To Re-register To Vote?

When you register to vote, your voter registration is linked to your residential address. When registered voters move, they are supposed to update their registration records with election officials before voting Check if you need to re-register to vote

Can I Register At The Polls On Election Day?

IOWA : Yes

You may register to vote on Election Day at the polling place for the precinct where you currently live. If you register to vote on Election Day, you will be required to show proof of both residency and identity.